Guitarist For The Doors Releases Solo Album

the doors guitarist robby krieger solo album 2010 singularity indie label oglio records Guitarist For The Doors Releases Solo Album

Yesterday was the release of Singularity, the first solo album by guitarist [lastfm]Robby Krieger[/lastfm] of psychedelic rock band [lastfm]The Doors[/lastfm]. This is the first solo album for Krieger in ten years.

Rated one of the best guitarist of all time, the 64-year-old wrote some of the [lastfm]The Doors[/lastfm]’ most popular songs, including “Light My Fire,” “Love Her Madly,” “Touch Me” and “Love Me Two Times.”

Take a peak under the cut to learn more about the guitar whiz’s newest project.

[pullquote quote=”I’m very happy, that after all these years I was able to record some flamenco guitar.” credit=”Robby Krieger”]

Released on indie label Oglio Records, Robby said of the album’s name:

“A singularity is a profound event such as the “big bang”, which was the creation of the universe. I could have started with something smaller, such as, say the destruction of a galaxy or two, but I figured what the hell. Hopefully, the music evokes thoughts along those lines.”

He went on to say of his latest solo effort: “I’m very happy, that after all these years I was able to record some flamenco guitar, which comprises the intros for two of the songs, ‘Russian Caravan’ and ‘Event Horizon’.”

He added,  “I’m also very happy with some of the slide guitar such as on ‘Southern Cross’ and ‘Waterslide.'”

You can currently catch Robby on tour with Doors’ keyboardist Ray Manzarek. Check him out live if you have chance. The man really is a guitar god and at 64, he’s not getting any younger.

Singularity track listing and video for Doors classic track “Touch Me,” below.

  1. Russian Caravan (Intro) 3:24
  2. Russian Caravan 10:12
  3. Southern Cross 4:45
  4. Event Horizon (Intro) 2:25
  5. Event Horizon 7:22
  6. Coffin Dodger 3:12
  7. Runaway Trane 4:35
  8. Let It Slide 5:27
  9. Solar Wind 4:25
  10. House Of Bees 4:58



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From 93.1 Jack FM

Best Of Los Angeles
Flashback Lunch

Listen Live