eric clapton and steve winwood Eric Clapton Recruits Steve Winwood, Sheryl Crow For New Album

Emerging out of his five-year hiatus, guitar god [lastfm]Eric Clapton[/lastfm] is releasing his 19th solo album in September. Apart from hearing the expected eloquent guitar essence from the renowned musician, fans can expect an untraditional sounding album featuring a slew of famous artists on the tracks.

[pullquote quote=”It’s an eclectic collection of songs that weren’t really on the map” credit=”Eric Clapton”]

Eric Clapton hit the studio for his 19th solo album, Clapton, recruiting the talented assistance from an array of artists including [lastfm]Sheryl Crow[/lastfm], [lastfm]Derek Trucks[/lastfm], [lastfm]Steve Winwood[/lastfm], [lastfm]Wynton Marsalis[/lastfm], and [lastfm]Allen Toussaint[/lastfm]. Clapton is his first release since the 2005 Back Home, and hits stores on September 28th.

Clapton took a more organic approach to recording this album, which includes a 14-track mix of covers of obscure traditional an country-blues songs along with new material specially written for the album.

“This album wasn’t what it was intended to be at all,” he said.  “It’s actually better than it was meant to be because, in a way, I just let it happen.  It’s an eclectic collection of songs that weren’t really on the map—and I like it so much because if it’s a surprise to the fans, that’s only because it’s a surprise to me, as well.”

We  can’t wait to hear what the surprising material sounds like, and some lucky fans have heard a taste of the new record on his recent tours previewing tracks like “Rocking Chair” and “When Someone Thinks You Are Wonderful.” The first single from the album is “Run Back To Your Side,” which you can boogie on down to below.

Clapton track list:
1. “Travelin’ Alone”
2. “Rocking Chair”
3. “River Runs Deep”
4. “Judgment Day”
5. “How Deep Is The Ocean”
6. “My Very Good Friend The Milkman”
7. “Can’t Hold Out Much Longer”
8. “That’s No Way To Get Along”
9. “Everything Will Be Alright”
10. “Diamonds Made From Rain”
11. “When Somebody Thinks You’re Wonderful”
12. “Hard Times Blues”
13. “Run Back To Your Side”
14. “Autumn Leaves”

[Source: Rolling Stone, Seattle Pi]


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From 93.1 Jack FM

Best Of Los Angeles
Flashback Lunch

Listen Live